Fountain Pen Cartridges

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

keithbyrd

I searched for an answer but didn't find it - Do ink cartridges get old and dry out? I have had a pack of 12 Private Reserve for about 2 years - maybe a little longer.
I have a FP that I have been using for about 2 years and have never had any problems with the ink flow, starting, no skipping etc. I started using these older cartridges and I can't keep it working. Is the age of the ink a problem?
And I have flushed and cleaned the nib and checked tine alignment, and feed/nib alignment.
I will try a cartridge I just got and see what happens.
Thoughts and insights appreciated.
I need to know cause I send a cartridge or two to customers with each FP sold!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

You mention that you have had these cartridge for around two years - that's nothing in the life of fountain pen cartridges. Cartridges are typically sold in boxes of 12. It took me about four years to use up the last box of cartridges I bought. I have some Cross cartridges in my desk drawer that have to be at least 30 years old, and they appear to be fine.

That said, Private Reserve had a troubled history. The original owner of the company died without making provisions for continuing the business. Eventually, after a year or so of wrangling, one of his employees was allowed to purchase the business, which she operated for a couple of years before she died a few months ago. At this point, it appears that the trademarks (the Private Reserve name, and the names of the more popular inks) have been acquired by a European ink manufacturer, but that Private Reserve will no longer exist as a separate company. I suspect the cartridges you have date from the first incarnation of the Company, and they could be much older than you think (there's no way of knowing when they were actually produced).