First Kitless Rollerball with a clip

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from TDahl

TDahl

While I have made Kitless Rollerballs in the past, this is my first attempt making one with a prefab clip. The clip is from Beaufort Ink (style "J" with an OD of 14.4 mm.) I poured the blank in the shop using Alumilite Clear Slow resin, and Pearlescent mica powders.

I had to be extra careful turning the cap and cap-finial down since I needed to match the OD of the clip ring. The body finial is from a sheet of brass. I wanted to experiment with a different shape for the nose cone, and am happy with how this one turned out.

For anyone interested, here are the dimensions of the completed pen:

Total length: 6 inches
Cap length: 2.75 inches
Barrel length: 3.25 inches
Section length: 1.25 inches

Cap diameter (largest): 16.5 mm
Barrel diameter (Cap end): 13 mm
Barrel diameter (Finial end): 11.5 mm

Tap and Die for Cap and Body: M13 x 0.8 TS
Tap and Die for Section and Body: M10 x 1 SS

As always, comments, questions, and critiques are encouraged. Thanks for reading.

Attachments

• IMG_5820.jpg
    IMG_5820.jpg
    469.8 KB · Views: 127
  • IMG_5822.jpg
    IMG_5822.jpg
    385.2 KB · Views: 117
  • IMG_5823.jpg
    IMG_5823.jpg
    288.5 KB · Views: 125

floatslow

Nice work on the blank, also I am really liking your section/ nose cone. Is the finial screwed into the cap to secure the clip? Any issues with concentric alignment?

TDahl

Nice work on the blank, also I am really liking your section/ nose cone. Is the finial screwed into the cap to secure the clip? Any issues with concentric alignment?