experience with Craftsman 12" Bandsaw?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sorcerertd

I keep seeing these come up. Has anyone used this particular bandsaw that can share their experience with it? Specifically, is it worth picking one up for under $150?

1660408192060.png

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Not worth the money. Any money. My brother had one years ago and he could never get the thing to track straight. The tires were plastic on the one he had. Just another opinion.

Turner Terry

I purchased one of these new with only a 1 HP motor back in Jan 1991. I am just a hobbyist wood worker so I do not make furniture or anything like that. The only issue I have had was after about 6 yrs the mechanism that locks the tilt head in place would not lock. It is made of plastic so I made one out of aluminum and has worked great ever since. All the blade guides and back bearing are metal and the blade runs pretty straight. This past winter I took some 6" to 7" logs of hedge as well as black and honey locus and cut it into 1" slabs. Did a real good job of it. Need to make sure blade is good and sharp as well as can't zip through a 12" long piece in just a minute.
So in my experience and opinion I would say if it is just to be used for crafting and pen making and it is setup properly it should last a long time. And at a really reasonable price.
I am looking at upgrading some time soon only for the reason of wanting to do some resawing of wider boards.

leehljp

Member Liaison