Ex-Engineer in Seattle!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Westifer

Hello to all!
I re-started turning last winter and I am hooked! My favorite things to turn are pens, although I do many other items as well.
I use a Jet 1014 and a Laguna 1836. They both do a terrific job for me.
I use HSS tools as well as Carbide tools I assembled myself.
I am very interested in hearing about experiences and recommendations for two things:
Laser engravings for pens and other items, and
A cheap source (China?) for quality pen kits, including fountain pens.
I'd love to hear from any members who have explored these topics.
Thanks!
Wes Ames

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

George883

Hi Wes, welcome to the site from Peoria, Arizona and an ex=Seattlelite. I'm new to pen turning, using a Jet 1221vs, and am thinking of upgrading to a Laguna 1836 for turning larger projects. How do you like yours?

George

Westifer

Hi Wes, welcome to the site from Peoria, Arizona and an ex=Seattlelite. I'm new to pen turning, using a Jet 1221vs, and am thinking of upgrading to a Laguna 1836 for turning larger projects. How do you like yours?

George
Hi George!
I absolutely love my Laguna 1836. I bought mine as a floor model locally and saved quite a bit that way. I wrote a somewhat lengthy review all about it for Amazon. I will attach it below :) .

Good luck to you with your upgrade!

Wes

-----------------AMAZON REVIEW FOLLOWS: -------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Lathe. This review includes specifics from my 110v model.
May 12, 2019

This is a well designed, high quality lathe. They do go on sale periodically, typically for 10% off the list price, but sometimes you can do even better.
Positives:
The 110v system has an inverter that creates ample three phase 240v power to the motor.
Adjustments are easily made, and handle positions are easily adjustable within their rotations so the lock position can be set where you want it.