DuraClick Modifications

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dcameraman

I'm currently working on adapting the DuraClick EDC to accept rollerball refills.

Other that the work it takes to make it happen . . . why could a 'click' rollerball be a bad idea?

I know that the rollerball can dry out . . . I left a refill out overnight to see if it would dry out. It wrote just fine in the morning.

Let me know what I'm missing . . .

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

I would encourage you in effecting this modification. . Have thought of doing this also.

Agree that there is a place for a "click rollerball" .... however, I have no experience in leaving a rollerball uncapped for any length of time.
Could it leak ? . I don't know, but probably . Will it dry out ? . Almost certainly "Yes".

Looking forward to your result. . Hope you will post details of the mods you make to .... hole diameters, and overall refill chamber length.

Hope it works out !

Gersh

Schmidt makes a cap less rollerball insert. They claim it will last a year without drying out. I recently bought a couple to try with a modified "Blade" kits. I also am looking at trying it with a large capacity transmission from Milan's pens

magpens

Schmidt makes a cap less rollerball insert. They claim it will last a year without drying out. I recently bought a couple to try with a modified "Blade" kits. I also am looking at trying it with a large capacity transmission from Milan's pens
@Gersh
If you could post URLs to both the Schmidt listing and the Milan listing, that would be much appreciated, please. . I am watching this thread.
Thanks in advance.

Gersh

No worries @magpens! With the extender built into the "Blade" click mechanism it might be better to look into the shorter version.

I havent played with the PSI versions so I have no input on them unfortunately

TonyL