Diagrams or Guidance on Reinforcing Wooden Kittless Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BryanMurphy

I have heard people mention that wood doesn't take threads very well when trying to use it for kitless pens. The most appealing resolution I have heard is to make all of the threaded parts of acrylic or ebonite. I'm interested in trying it, but haven't found any guidance or even pictures from people who have tried it.

Does anyone have any advice, insight, diagrams, photos, etc, of a wooden kitless pen with alternate material used for threads?

Sharing is caring. :)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Some have used ebonite or some type of synthetic materials. I used a dense wood on this pen.

monophoto

I'm far from an expert on this subject, but my experience teaches me two things:

1. It is possible to cut female threads in wood with a tap. Also, my experience is that tapping a female thread in wood is more likely to be successful in face grain as opposed to end grain - I believe that the problem is that when tapping end grain, the wood fibers are perpendicular to the thread and therefore are so short that the threads easily break off. Conversely, if the threads are cut in face grain, the fibers are parallel to the thread and therefore the threads will be stronger.

2. I have never had any success cutting male threads in wood with a conventional machinist's die. I know male threads are possible with a threading box, and I suspect that a die could be used, but only if the threads are quite coarse. As a practical matter, male threads implies that the wood would be a spindle such that the threads would be in end grain, so I suspect that there is a minimum achievable thread pitch.

jalbert