Decal Questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I've never done a decal blank before, but I'd better learn. A customer is wanting his business symbol put on about a dozen pens!
I ordered two packs of Clear Decal Paper, Decal Bonding Spray, and a bottle of Setting Solution.
Does the Setting Solution help smooth the decal out? Is it worth the step?
I know you can use other stuff besides the Decal Bonding Spray - Which works the best?
Any other tricks to getting a professional looking product without seeing the edges of the decal?
I plan on using either MS Word, Powerpoint, or Paint to manipulate the graphics. Is there a better program?
The customer is rustling up a high res graphic for me. How high should I use?
Thanks for everybody's help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Phunky_2003

I use Avery clear labels. I do recommend sealing with some type of bonding spray. I use crystal clear spray acrylic. Let that dry and cure. 24 hours. Cut decal as close to image as possible. I use Photoshop for my editing. I am real familiar with it so I just use it.

larryc

I just finished a 50 pen corporate logo order using decals for the logo.
I used the clear Testors decal from Hobby Lobby.
I wait 12 hours after printing on my inkjet printer.
I spray the decal with clear Krylon and wait another 12 hours.
I use American Holly blanks that have been turned, polished up to 12000 Micro mesh and six layers of CA.
After another 12 hours polish up to 12000 Micro mesh.
Wet decal (cropped about 1/8 " to the logo) for 15 seconds and then wait 90 seconds to apply to the blank that has been brushed with water.
Use distilled water.
Some say that you should not touch the blank after you have polished it but I have not had a problem. Some people may have more oily skin and that may cause a problem.
After sliding the decal onto the blank and making sure it is straight and oriented properly blot it with a paper towel.