Custom Center Bands?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dl351

I'm fairly new to turning pens (turning in general), but I'm always looking for new things to try. Can someone point me towards instructions or a tutorial on how to make a custom center band for, say, a Navigator? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jbostian

I just finished a Navigator with a custom centerband and finial. Here is a link to an article in the library that helped me. http://content.penturners.org/articles/2008/custom_finial.pdf
The article shows how to make a finial for a Jr. Gent kit but it is the same process for the Navigator. Yes you will need some kind of chuck to hold the material. I used a scroll chuck. I started out by turning the material down to the diameter of the center ring. I decided to do the center ring first because it has a larger diameter then the finial. Then I used my drill chuck in the tailstock to drill a hole into the material the size of the hole in the original centerband. The depth of the hole will be just a little deeper then the thickness you want the centerband to be. Then I started to part off the centerband but stopped before going all the way through. I then sanded and polished the centerband. After I was done polishing I finished parting of the new centerband. To turn the finial I just followed the intsructions from the link above. I hope this helps you some.

Jamie

dl351

Thanks for the help, everyone!

Jamie, your Navigator is actually what sparked this question. Being fairly new to turning, I don't have drill bits and bushings for many pens and the Navigator is the next pen I've been wanting to get drills and bushings for.

Thanks again for all your help.

jbostian

Thanks for the help, everyone!