Cure Time ? Sanding Sealer

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

CountryPens

I am pretty new to penturning - 12-15 pens. I have noticed with more course wood Padduk and Wenge that I get a lot of "light" spots in the grain where the sanding dust fills the grain. I have been pretty much using BB's method
*220grn, *then thin CA, *220, *320, *400, *Etc, Etc, thru all the Micro Mesh out to 12,000. Other woods are coming out great, but with these woods I get major "light colored" grain filler.
Should I be using Mylands Sanding Sealer? What is the Cure time for Mylands Sanding Sealer ? the can does not say.

any help is appreciated

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

redfishsc

I doubt sanding sealer will help with the slurry stuff in the grain. When I'm turning something open grained like that and get the light stuff, I whoop out a toothbrush and some mineral spirits or lacquer thinner (if the lacquer thinner doesn't melt the toothbrush). Wear safety goggles. A mild scrubberin and wipe with a cloth usually pulls it all out.

Or blast it with a 100 psi of air with an air chuck.

Doghouse

Sanding Sealer will fill the grain, but the CA you are using will do that also. I think what is happening is that you are sanding through the ca you used to fill the pours. Sanding Sealer and CA would be doing the same job. The trick is to only "sand" out the finish, not through the finish. Once you sand to 220, you should not see any "light" lines in the wood. It should be all even color. Then apply the ca or SS, and wait for it to dry hard. Once that is done, sand to the final gloss only.

CountryPens

Thank you for the input. I think I am sanding "though" the CA. So I guess I should do more work with the Gouge and not do as much sanding.

But my Question remains - if I want to try the Sanding Sealer, How long does it take to "Dry / Cure" ?? before I can begin sanding.

Thanks for your help

Doghouse