Course question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

secureideas

Hi all,

I am interested in learning to turn bowls. I have been making pens for a couple years now and loving it.

Has anyone taken the Woodcraft course on beginning bowl turning? I know that I can just figure it out or watch a bunch of youtube (I have <grin>) but I am hoping the feedback and two way communication will help me get the skill more clearly.

Thanks
Kevin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
I didn't take their course, but they weee having a "turn a bowl for charity" event a few years ago, so I went there to observe other turners making a bowl. Talked to a few turners & the WC guys supervising the event, and learned enough to get started. I also watch a log of YouTube videos.

Mortalis

I, like you, turned pens for a couple years and started to get bored with it and wanted to do something a bit more challenging. Now, now, all you pen only guys, I know just turning pens is not all there is to pen turning so dont get your knickers in a twist.
Anyway, I've never been to a demo (watched a few though) and never been to a workshop but, I've watched a bunch of videos by the bowl turners that would be considered the top of the hill guys and really didnt get much technique or technical reasoning why you do some things and why/when you should do some others. Just because your great at what you do doesnt make you a great teacher, especially with video.
I didnt start to really understand the whys until I started watching Kent from Turn A Wood Bowl. He's a great teacher via video.
I would highly recommend checking his videos out if you haven't already.

Charlie_W

A class or mentoring session is the best learning tool for moving to bowls. Learning how to sharpen for different bowl gouge bevel angles, swept back wings, and where you would use which gouge/bevel and grind is invaluable.