Corian Help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Anyone have any suggestions for turning corian and other acrylic solid surface material? I work as a kitchen designer at Lowe's and have ended up with a lot (24x24x24 box full) of solid surface samples and scraps that I want to start using but i'm a little apprehensive about just kicking on the table saw and lathe and going for it. I figure CA and lots of clamps for turning 1/2" thick stock into 1" thick, but what about cutting it to size and turning?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

broitblat

Corian should cut and turn fine with your normal tools although it may dull them a bit quicker. I'd be cautious of some of the other materials (e.g. there's some quartz composite stuff that could be problematic), however.

-Barry

AceMrFixIt

I did the same for Lowe's a few years back. CA will work but you may see the seam. I use carbide tipped turning tools and saw blades. I got some corian adhesive from a countertop making shop after I made them a few corian pens. Got lots of scraps too.

Hess

Anyone have any suggestions for turning corian and other acrylic solid surface material? I work as a kitchen designer at Lowe's and have ended up with a lot (24x24x24 box full) of solid surface samples and scraps that I want to start using but i'm a little apprehensive about just kicking on the table saw and lathe and going for it. I figure CA and lots of clamps for turning 1/2" thick stock into 1" thick, but what about cutting it to size and turning?

Just S of ya
I turn it all the time have been looking where to buy at times. It will turn great if you glue try to mix the colors that go together you well be amazed at what you get and the seam if any will not matter

stolicky