Chatter/slight oval pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

willow

Hello everyone!!

I am a new member to this site. My name is Denise. I have been turning for about 10 months now. I started with bowls and now I am turning anything I can get my hands on since I fell in love with this beautiful addiction!!!:biggrin::biggrin::)

I need help, lately when I am turing pens, I get a chattering on the blank, which is both visible and audible. And some of them are coming out slightly oval. What is causing this? I usually turn wood or acrylic blanks with a spindle gouge until I get full round, then continue with a skew. Am I applying to much pressure? I thought for sure it was the mandrel, so I changed out the mandrel rod, but it still continues. Is my tail stock not aligned properly with my headstock? What causes this?:eek::eek::frown:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

LEAP

Along with tools that are not scary sharp the other leading cause of out of round is too much pressure on the tail stock and the knurled mandrel nut being to tight. Either one will put a slight bend in the mandrel and cause out of round.

M

monkeynutz

Your mandrel rod might itself also be slightly bent... Try spinning it with the tailstock pulled slightly away from the mandrel, and watch the end of the mandrel rod for concentricity... You can also run the mandrel bare, and feel for a wobble with your fingers.

Last edited by a moderator:

marcruby

1. As others have mentioned you tools have to be extremely sharp. I'm assuming you're using a skew.
2. Also as mentioned, excess pressure can cause the same symptoms.
3. Under pressure the mandrel rod will sometimes bend permanently. That will cause a permanent fit problem.
4. If your skew is sharp then look carefully in how you're using it -- are you rubbing the bevel? Also try adjusting the angle and cutting point of the skew. Missing the sweet spot can also cause chatter.

Marc

randyrls

Hello everyone!!