casting advice - yellow and blue makes green

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hooked

I am a beginner when it comes to casting. I have mostly been doing clear label casting and it has been going well. I have done a few other hybrid blanks and have had no real issues with mixing colors Currently, I am trying to make a couple dozen simple blue and gold/yellow pen blanks for my son's school. I am having a real hard time not getting a visible green tone when gently swirling the yellow/gold into the blue. I am hoping there may be some suggestions to cut down on this effect.

I am using alumilite clear slow. I am using alumilite dyes and powders. I am mixing my blue (dye) resin and pouring it into my mold. When the blue hits 95 with my infrared thermometer I am adding the yellow/gold (dye and mica). In my latest attempt, I let it sit until 97 before I added yellow and there was no difference. As soon as I pour yellow I see the edges turning green, gently swirl I see the green appear more. When I put them under pressure and remove they look more teal. Is there anything I can do differently to achieve this? different pigment? Let the resin get warmer? It took over 15 minutes to get to 97 so I was concerned about waiting any longer. Is 97 still too low for mixing these colors? Is clear slow not the best alumilite resin for this project?

I can easily get some acrylic acetate or buy the below blanks from Zac which are exactly what I am trying to achieve but would really like to be able to make the blanks for this project.

Thanks for any advice.

Ram-Blanks-Square-1.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

NJturner