CA ....BLO/CA finishes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

mick

I'm to the point I want to try one or other of the CA or BLO/CA finishes. I'm not really happy with the friction polish. It looks great at first ...but after handling the pen are any period of time it seems to dull. So...on a scale of 1 to 10 how difficult are the two CA finishes to apply and whats the advantages of one over the other. Or should I start with one and progress to the other? Any and all comments will be great appreciated !

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mick

Scavenger...the 2 articles listed on the home page. One about a Straight CA finish ...and the other a BLO/CA finish. If I've never done one before ....which would be the best to start with?

JimGo

I agree with Woodscavenger...I've seen a lot of different takes on it, in addition to the CA and BLO/CA techniques discussed on the main page. I agree Mick that FP doesn't last long enough; you may also want to look at other finishes, too, in addition to CA. I've hit that point now, and am going to be doing some alternative/additional finishing techniques in my next set of pens.

JimGo

Sorry...had the window open before you replied. I like the BLO/CA technique better because the BLO really helps make the grain pop, wets any dust that's still in the blank, and IMHO gives a better shine than the plain CA technique. But I'm sure others, just about all of whom will have more experience than I, will weigh in.

Kevin M

Mick, I use the blo/ca and have great success with it. On the other hand the straight ca has not worked for me. At times the blo/ca comes off the lathe so smooth and glassy I wonder if I should even attempt to touch it, still looks wet! blo/ca = 2 ca = 8

Daniel