Blank Harvesting Advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

DocStram

As awful as it may be, construction crews recently plowed over (not cut) about 30 full grown trees on our campus. There are huge magnolias, cedar, oak, and pecan.
I've never had the opportunity to cut wood from trees that have such huge exposed roots. Am I correct in assuming that I want to cut some of those roots in the hopes of finding beautiful grain? There's an awful lot of dirt and stones clogging up around the roots. Is it worth the effort of knocking that junk off to get at the roots? I know what to cut off the rest of the trees. This is my first time having the chance to cut roots.
Advice is appreciated!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jthompson1995

It'd be a pretty scary ordeal to find a rock stuck in the roots with your chainsaw; we don't need a new topic heading: Docstram vs chainsaw: chainsaw wins. If you can get the dirt and stones off and can see a clear path, go for it carefully.

Oh, and if they were southern magnolias, make sure to get some of that. The stuff I got was cream colored with purple annual rings. It looks great angle cut.

DocStram

Yep, they are Southern Magnolias. Thanks for the heads up about the purple rings. I'll be on the lookout. And, I appreciate the warning about the chainsaw. How was it turning the Magnolia?

Incidentally, Laurie Sullivan, if you are reading this ... I am about to repay your kindness. [:D]

jthompson1995

Magnolia is fairly soft, a lot like holly. Sharp tools are really helpful, as the grain on mine tore a little, so leave a little extra and sand a little more to get a real smooth finish. Also, like holly it may get blue stained if left wet too long. I have had luck cutting it in larger pieces, letting it dry some, then milling to final size and removing the stained outside edges.

Here's a baron I made from angle cut Magnolia:

tn_magnolia%20baron-open.jpg

Dario