At what temperature should I stop turning resin blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Teeball

I have been turning for 6 months and everything has been going well. This past week all of a sudden the ACRYLIC BLANKS ARE STARTING TO CHIP RATHER THEN SHAVE OFF. the temperature has been in the low 40's. Do you think its too cold to continue . Should I wait till the temp. is over 50. My roughing gouge has just been sharpened, and then I go to my Easy Wood Tools including the pen turner. Give me your experiences please. Thanks Tommy :at-wits-end: :embarrassed: :beer:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ed McDonnell

If you keep your resin blanks in a warmer location until you are ready to work on them that should solve your problem. The air temp you turn in won't matter to the blanks. Just don't let the resin blanks themselves get too cold. It will definitely make them more brittle.

If it's so cold you are shivering and shaking while holding the tools then that could be a sign it is too cold to continue....

Ed

toddlajoie

My lathe is in my unheated garage, and I regularly turn acrylics all winter. The water I use for Micromesh often has a good layer of ice on it (which I dump and fill with warm water to use, mainly to keep my fingers warm, not to keep the MM warm...) and I can't say I've had any problems with chipping unless I get aggressive with cutting. I don't use a gouge other than rounding, and don't have carbide tools. I mainly use a small skew as both a cutter and scrapper. So I guess my point is, it is not necessary to not turn acrylics under normal-cold conditions (I can't speak to negative temps, but I can say I often stop turning only because my hands get cold and I think wearing gloves is a dangerous idea...) You may need to lighten your cutting, depending on your style, I have a light touch always, and prefer to go slow no matter what...

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member