Any helpful information on a shop fox w1836 issues

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

shimcan

I have had my shop fox w1836 for a little over a year now. The issues I have had is basically the speed. The last time I had issues was when.
I was finishing a pen and went to turn the variable speed down so I could turn it off. Then the machine sped up super-fast, so I quickly turned it off. Called shop fox and they sent me a new speed dial and circuit board. Worked fine for a week and then the speed would not register on the readout. Called them again and they sent me a new potentiometer. This was the second time both the circuit board and potentiometer were replaced. Now the speed slows if there is pressure applied. I'm wondering if I am doing something wrong while turning to cause machine issues? I turn pens acrylic pens; I specifically make Diamond Painting Pens and I am self-taught through you tube and trial and error. I am also wondering if maybe my chuck is to heavy? I personally think it is. It's just a generic chuck and is quite heavy. I have a small Nova chuck that's probably 1/3 the weight but can't seem to find the jaws I need for it. Any insight regarding this issue would be quite helpful.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
No insight into most of your message; but a Nova chuck is well respected and I am not sure why you can't find jaws to work? What do you have for a chuck and jaws? Suggestions will come!

KMCloonan

Hi - Welcome to the Penturners forum.