Another Chessboard

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from jttheclockman

jttheclockman

I mentioned in Kens thread where he shows his beautiful chessboard he finished making for his son, that many years ago I made a chessboard and inlayed it into a table. I mentioned this was probably one of my first furniture so called woodworking projects. here is a little background. I was an electrician for over 43 years and back in the late 70's and early 80's I started collecting these huge wire reels that we would get from supply houses that had our large cable wires wrapped on. After making the pulls these reels usually got thrown out or some guys would take and make outdoor furniture such as tables and chairs. Many times these were used by the guys on the job as our lunch and break tables. The reels supplied to the job depended on the size and amount of cable being pulled. So they came in various sizes. I decided to take a few over the years and then visited a craft show and someone was selling these type tables and chairs. Back then burning or singeing of wood projects was big. They would do these type table and also shelves and many other themed projects. It was a look and maybe some of you remember those days. Well I decided to add my touch and this was the results. I made a couple more and gave them away. This one I kept for myself and have it in my game room as a token of my past intro into woodworking I guess. Had to clear all the stuff stored on top to take a photo but it is a bit beat up but not bad. I made a chess board and inlayed it into the top. I reversed the boards on the sides so that the concave side is shown. I then added some rope detail and burned the or singed the whole thing as it was done back in those days. Put a few coats of poly on it.