Alumilite cure time

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

jack barnes

I was just on Alumilite web site doing some research and they say their cure time is 3-4 minutes. I don't believe that would give enough time to put in paint pot and pull a vacumm. If I'm right how do you elimulate air bubbles?

Jack

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MesquiteMan

Retired Head Moderator
Jack,

I am a resident expert with Alumilite and I assure you, you have plenty of time to work with it! I personally do not use vacuum at all and prefer only pressure. The pot life of Alumilite Water Clear is 4.5 minutes. The clock starts ticking once the resin is mixed, not when you first pour them together. I frequently pour 19 ounces of mixed resin at a time and have plenty of time to get it all poured and pressurized long before it goes off. Four minutes is a lot longer than you realize.

Now granted, you may not have enough time to put it in the pot and pull a vacuum and then release and add pressure but I have yet to see any benefit to doing this anyway. If you reallly feel compelled to use vacuum then simply degass each part with vacuum before mixing together and then mix and pressure or simply cure under vacuum.

karlkuehn

Banned
Good to know, I just ordered my first batch of waterclear Alumilite and I was wondering the same thing. I'm going to try to pull a vacuum for a minute, release it and hit the pressure, at least for a blank or two, and then I'll try it with just pressure to see if there's a difference.

The problem with degassing the separate parts is when you finally mix them together, there's a chance for air bubbles to get back in there. At least for standard MEK catalyzed resin. The batch I just did seemed to work pretty good, but I didn't mix it too hot. With 1:1 stuff, I guess you can't really control the kick time. I'll have to play with it.