Alumilite cure time ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Gregf

This is my first attempt using Alumilite clear.
Making a tube in label blank.
Reading the instructions I was surprised at the cure time being 5 - 7 days at room temp or 16 hours @ 150 F.
I have a Friday deadline for this pen for a retirement party.
(More on this story later and in SYOP).

After chasing down (literally) the mail person Monday to get my resin, I cast the blank Monday evening.
Everything good so far, pulled the blank from the mold around 9pm.
Upped the temperature to around 80 in the room.
Left the blank until Tuesday evening.

Put the blank in a toaster oven for about 5 hours last evening then back into the 80 degree room overnight until this evening.
Not willing to leave the blank in a toaster oven unattended overnight.

This morning the blank seemed to be hard.

My questions are:
Is the blank likely to be ready to turn this evening?

What do others do to speed up the curing.
How long to cure ?
Can the blank be over cured and get brittle ?

TIA,

Greg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JohnU