Acrylic blank chipped failry badly.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

HoleyDiver

Hello,
As title states acrylic blank chipped. First time turning acrylic blank. I was using carbide tools. All was fine while turning with square cutter but once I switched to round I started getting pits and then then this big chip broke off. Any guidance or advice would be very much appreciated. I am very new to turning. That k you very much.
JB

Attachments

• 20220508_150310.jpg
    20220508_150310.jpg
    188.5 KB · Views: 191
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

Hello,
As title states acrylic blank chipped. First time turning acrylic blank. I was using carbide tools. All was fine while turning with square cutter but once I switched to round I started getting pits and then then this big chip broke off. Any guidance or advice would be very much appreciated. I am very new to turning. That k you very much.
JB
Was the blank perhaps an Inlace Acrylester or perhaps a Rhino Plastic blank? Those are two of the most brittle "acrylic" blanks that I am familiar and are prone to being "chippy". They are also therefore some of the most difficult plastic materials to turn. They require very sharp tools (like the carbide that you were using) and light cuts. A negative rake cutter is really the best for these as it is less aggressive. I've had the best luck cutting these at the highest speed my lathe will go. If you still get major chips you might try sanding it down to the final dimensions.

Inlace Acrylester is a polyester resin based material. I think Rhino is polyester also, but perhaps with different additives and/or percentages of hardeners that affect the brittleness.

I think the easiest to turn, but more expensive are they urethane based blanks, like Alumilite (and less odiferous as well). I would certainly recommend Alumilite blanks for beginning turners.