A very newbie from Pa.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Len Shreck

Hello all,
I am a very newbie, I am new to working with a Lathe and have never even TRIED to turn a pen. I am looking for advise for a new Lathe the one I had, it no longer works, was as old as the hills themselves. I read on a diff. thread that the HF 34706 is a pretty good one, before I joined here I was looking at the Grizzly G0624, I would appreciate any and all comments from you all on these two Lathes. I would also like to know what is the most "forgiving" material is for my first turnings? right now the tools I have are a table saw, compound miter saw, several drills, and many diff. type sanders. I will have to get a new bench grinder or sharpener for chisels, So I am looking for recommendations for them also. When it comes to Chisels the set I had got rusty when the pipe broke in my basement/workshop, so again what do you all suggest I get to start out with? This is more or less like building a new shop for turning pens, as I said I have never even tried to turn one and my experience working with a Lathe is kinda limited but I am ready willing and ,hopefully, able. You can email me at lshreck@hotmail.com for anything just PLEASE put Pen Turning in the subject line so I know it is coming from someone on here. Thanks for any help you all can offer. Len Shreck in central Pa.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

broitblat

Welcome, Len.

I don't have any experience with either the HF or Grizzly lathes, but whatever you get should depend on what you plan to do with it. Do you expect to focus just on pens or other small turnings? Perhaps you'll want to do bowls or platters? I would reccommend a variable speed lathe with a good high end (3000 or higher) RPM if you can afford it.

I'd suggest Maple as forgiving material to start with.

Finally, are your chisels too far gone to clean them up?

-Barry

CSue

Local Chapter Leader
Welcome Len.