A note from your Chapt Pres

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

redneckmedic

Greetings Greater Indy,

I hope this finds each of you doing well and in celebratory of Good Friday. My name is Matthew Heithoff (aka Redneckmedic @ IAP). I have appointed by the powers at large to represent you all as the Greater Indy Pen Turners Chapter President. I am excited and eager to roll our pending agenda for 2013. I suppose before get to all business I should tell you a bit about myself. I am a Firefighter Paramedic for the Indianapolis Fire Dept on my full days, and teach a variety of Emergency Medical Classes on my off days. I am a husband and then father of three daughters. I run a sizable year round garden and homestead chicken farm. Although I have many irons in the fire I also have lots of time to dedicate to research and logistics when I'm at the fire house. I am a self taught wood worker of about 15 years the last 4 or so I have dabbled in turning pens and such. Most of my experience is in small furniture and plate scrolling. As I told the folks at the last meeting I am probably the most mediocre wood worker you will ever meet. I didn't accept this position because of my expertise in the shop, rather as it is my ambition, eagerness, idealist nature, organizational skills, and desire to delegate.
As mentioned before we have a great planning committee assembled and will be working hard this spring to bring you some very energy packed events, both this summer and this fall.

Here are my goals for 2013.

· Create a Mission Statement for our Chapter
[FONT=&quot]o [/FONT]I believe if you don't know who you are, you can't know where you are going
· Create a Chapter Logo and Table top for events in the Midwest
· Host demo's at the meetings based on the weakness of the majority of our pen turners –taught by our members
· Create turners out of non-turning woodworkers at our meetings
· Create an annual "Give back" Program…. Pens for Soldiers is a great example done in the past