Where to Start

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ben Holt

I'm a newbie at turning. Haven't even done my first pen. I wanted to see how to best utilize this site to learn and get going.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rink

Welcome from Northwest Arkansas. I visited this forum at least weekly for about 6 months or more before I made my first pen. I've made more than 50 pens now...I'm not what you would call a "seasoned veteran", but I'm not a complete rookie either.

Three thoughts:
1. Just pop in daily and look at what's on the front page. That will lead you to explore a wide variety of topics, based on whatever conversations are happening that day.

2. The IAP Library, amazing. There are articles on everything from just getting started to very advanced topics...kitless penmaking, blank casting, metalwork, etc.

3. Specific forums. There's one on "Penturning"...one called "Show Off Your Pens"...a couple for blank making, etc.

All great sources of information, instruction, and inspiration. Also, if you have any questions, the folks on this forum are very good to provide advice. But beware...many times the advice is "you have to try and figure it out for yourself"...which is often frustrating to hear, but also often the best advice.

You might want also want to hit youtube and search for pen turning...there are several videos.

If you haven't determined your list of starter tools (lathe, chisels, etc.), there will be plenty of advice on this forum for that. Use the search feature, you'll find threads going back years and years.

Good luck, and welcome to the addiction.

jfoh