What type of chuck should I buy?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from athenstrestle

athenstrestle

Hi all,

I'm a relatively new penturner, I have been turning for the last two years, although only during the summer months when it's warm enough in the garage! I'm wanting to broaden my turning skills and last summer purchased some kits for chain pulls and the like, which need a chuck to turn. I have looked through some catelogues and seen that there are a variety of them, and have no idea what I will need. I suppose I would like something that could possibly be used to turn some bigger items too, maybe a bowl. I'm using a King mini-lathe and I believe the headstock has a Morse 2 taper. If anyone can give me some suggestions, I would certainly appreciate it. I am from Canada and will likely buy from Lee Valley Tools, if possible, so if anyone has any recommendations regarding the stuff they carry that would be great. Thanks everyone!

Cory

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

akbar24601

Hi Cory!

I bought a Oneway Talon chuck about 5 years ago and to this day it remains probably the best lathe investment I have made next to my lathe itself. This chuck is extremely versatile and I have used it for everything from drilling my pen blanks to turning custom dowels and also large bowls and platters. Also, I have always found LV very good to work with.

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=1&p=45612&cat=1,330,49238&ap=1

for anyone else that may follow that link please note that it is listed in Canadian currency for Corys sake.

stolicky

I am not familiar with your lathe, but I recently purchased a Talon chuck and am very happy with it. I have a midi chuck I used for my Jet mini for over a year and it worked well, but it also has tommy bars, which I am not a fan of. Talon had a key. There are three major points why I bought the Talon:

- relatively lightweight = less wear and tear on lathe