What is your BEST tip for a newbie?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wyone

I am a TOTAL newbie, been turning pens for less than a month, but learned a LOT in that time. I can see it is way more about technique than tools at least for me.

That said, I think it would be very beneficial if those of you who have been turning would give your best tip to newcomers. To me that means, what type of pen to learn on, what materials to use, any tools you cannot live without, etc.

I look forward to learning more and as I have now turned about a dozen pens I am starting to get some confidence in my abilities. I know in the beginning, learning on slimlines, I almost gave up as I had too many failures. But I am not a quitter! lol

Thank all of you in advance and the amount of information I have learned on this site is immeasurable. :)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Well, you asked for it...

After you get all your ducks in order and can start to turn pens... Turn scrap wood for 2 weeks! Don't try to make ANYTHING! Get used to the tools, the lathe, the chucks, etc... (However, if you have been turning, disregard...).

REad as much of the IAP Library as you can stomach.
Ask questions - some answers will be great, some will be snarky (disregard).
Read as much as possible, and experiment as much as possible.
There will be many isolated topics you will have questions on... Keep asking!

Oh... Welcome to IAP!

HAVE FUN!

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
My best advice is to stop now and save the rest of your money,sanity and soul from the bottomless pit of pen turning.