What is the most difficult wood you turned?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dario

In my experience the worst is ziricote burl.

It is very nice but it is tear out central. No matter how sharp my skew is and how light I attack it, each pass will tear out somewhere somehow. Sanding it also was a pain because it is very hard.

That was when I am still a newbie (not that I am no longer but I am more exprienced now [:D]) and not sure if I was doing something wrong then.

dubdrvrkev

I think my least favorite to date was wenge, but one of the most difficult to deal with was manzanita root burl. It was hard as nails, didn't tear out but chipped rather badly, and was an absolute bear to finish. CA literally just flew off of it. I couldn't give the rest of it away.

tipusnr

Soft straight-grained redwood. It drill and turned sweet but the heat from applying the finish peeled it right off the tubes. What a pain!

punkinn

Cross cut Wenge, hands down! The Wenge tops cross cut Zebrawood by a slight margin. I'll take Zebra any day... my Wenge blanks will probably be in my drawer for quite a while. I turned both face cut and cross cut pens just to say I'd conquered it, that was enough. LOL

The redwood I turned cracked under the heat of sanding as well, Bill... not a pen but a tiny goblet and "wine bottle" to match. this was from a small, solid limb of S. gigantea. It was beautiful, but very delicate to finish.

Kevin, I wish I'd known you had manzanita to GIVE AWAY!! I'd happily have taken it off your hands. I've really enjoyed working with the MRB I've turned.

Nancy

RonMc1954

Smoky10 wrote:
Dry osage orange, make two passes and sharpen your tools.
Smoky I have never turned osage orange but I have cut alot with a chainsaw. It is the only wood I have cut that can produce sparks when cutting with a chainsaw. IT'S HARD
Ron

chigdon

OK, I know it is supposed to be one but I will narrow it down to 2: