What do I need next?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BobRad

Just trying to get a feel about what I need to start again seriously. I don't want to get things that are luxury additions, but might as well start by getting the right stuff.

I have a very full (but small and crowded) workshop, band saw, table saw, lots of hand and power tools, calipers, etc.. My lathe is an industrial 220volt Italian Mini-Max copy lathe. It suffers from having a copy lathe attachment that makes it less than an ideal lathe, but I'm not about to buy another one. I also have a very old Unimat mini lathe, but its not really good for pen turning, its basically designed for small metal parts,

I have a pretty complete set of large (mostly Sorby) and mini lathe tools, but despite all that, I'm not that experienced in lathe work - mostly I've done small custom cabinet work.

1. Based on some reading, I was thinking of getting an oval skew chisel, but I've also seen advice against it, due to it being harder to sharpen,

2. My lathe tool rests are very poor in design, the small one is 10" x 30mm post - I can just fit it in with a full size mandrel. I was thinking of getting one I've seen listed in this forum (rherrell), but also have been looking at http://www.leevalley.com/en/wood/page.aspx?p=46452&cat=1,330,49238&ap=1. since that one seems it would help in turning things besides pens. Also I can drive over to Lee Valley and pick one up. Anything I order from the US, has delivery costs and I also can get hit by additional customs duties.

3. The Woodchuck PenPro - it seems this would be good if I start working with composites, what about for general hardwood and acrylics?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BobRad

NO the unimat is totally non-standard

I dont thinkg the bed would even take the length of a mandrel and no morse tapers on it

all accesories for it are Unimat only and this lathe is at least 40 years old

Its the Mini-Max that take the big stuff and has a Morse #2

yost69