What do I do with THIS?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

tharp

Okay, this is funny. I asked in another thread about manzanita (no burl).
Guess what! The guy cutting my tree came up to the house with THIS.
First off, I'm a total newbie. I am NOT going to cut this thing. I know I'll screw it up. I am only turning pens from blanks I buy right now because I lack the knowhow to turn something like this into art. I don't even know how to tell the quality of this thing. Where do I start?
It's about 32" long and about 14" at the widest.
Any suggestions?
Thanks for helping me out.
Tom

200710196615_04.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

fiferb

Paint the end grain ASAP with anchor seal or latex paint, otherwise, you'll have a cracked and split mess. Then you can decide what to do with it.

LEAP

Tom
I know just what you are feeling. I had a nice oak burl given to me and did not know how to approach it. After a while I just took it to the band saw and started cutting. I don't think there is a right or wrong way. Just think of what you want to get out of it then try for the best yield. Its kind of llike unwrapping a christmas present. You never know what you will find inside.

barrels

Interesting looking wood.
May I suggest.....
1st....you determine the woods use, then cut to lenths for either cross cut or with the grain. And as you said being new I would take a 1" square cut off of wood and determine your cuts, mark the wood and cut with band saw to minimize kerf loss. Also keep in consideration after cutting lenths where your best figure is and also work with that cosideration with your 1" block. Then cut into slices and then cut into squares. If possible prep the wood with a stabilizer such as pentacryl.

good luck

Eric

tharp