what are my options

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

pedro68

hi there , i am new to pen turning and have been trying the ca finish with limited results ,on some of my pens the ca has went on and had a slight rippled effect on it ,i was wondering if this is because im trying to build up the thickness to quickly.i have been applying 4 or 5 coats of medium ca and then using micro mesh from 1500 down to 120000 to smooth it out and then polishing with T cut car polish.the results are okay but i am looking to improve greatly as i would like that glass like high polished look . i would also like to know what other finishes everyone applies like friction polishes and wax's etc and the pros and cons of these .the turning side of things im fine with and traditional finishes are no problem ,just this blasted ca stuff .HELP PLEASE:confused::confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Haynie

I HATE CA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When it works it is pretty. When it doesn't it is a big ol PIA. I just finished screwing up a finish for the THIRD time. Everything is fine until I try to separate it from the bushings. People will say to practice on scrap and I will agree with them. That being said I am really beginning to HATE CA.

tim self

Have you been sanding long ways as well? It's about the only way to remove the ridges and ripples. Really no need past 3200.

Lenny

reporp21 has the right idea ... John's Eliminator bushing work great ... especially if you take some time and wax them before using. I Never use standard bushings.... better to just place them between 60 degree centers. Sometimes if the ca does bond them to the centers you might need to cut them free with skew or a utility knife with the lathe OFF.