Wenge with bocote center band

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from woodscavenger

Status
Not open for further replies.

woodscavenger

After seeing the spalted oak pens I am ashamed of this lowly slimline but such is life. This was mu first attempt at a wooden center band. I like how it turned out. I can now use the cheap slimline kits but make the pen a little more robust without the exagerated "woman in a corset" look.

The photo was dificult to show the grain. I am still a newbie in the photo (and pen making) arena.

I had a great time using my new micro-HSS tools. I could have never even thought of center bands without these babies. :D

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

woodscavenger

PSI had a set on sale for $15 I think. It is part # LCMINI2. It is a 5 peice set. I love it. They seem to hold their edge well. The only problem I have is with the skew. The metal it shorter than my guide plate on my Wolverine jig setup. I haven't figured a good way around that but I will. The small parting tool is especially nice and cuts very cleanly.

woodscavenger

DUH! I forgot to add the photo! [:0] Here it is. Any comments on my photo album are always welcome since I am a newbie and need all the help I can get.
[:p]

200512352212_wenge-pen1a.jpg
<br />

opus

Thanks,
I'll have to give a look at them.
If that"s the only problem you have with a skew, your way ahead of me....I shouldn't even call it a skew, when I try to use it it should be called "<u>Tool For Removing Big Chunk Of Wood!!) </u>[:D]

Gary

I've used wenge in jewelry boxes and found that it splinters a lot. It's interesting to see that it can be turned nicely.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
That centerband really adds a lot of flair to the wenge. For those of you having trouble with wenge, it's another very dense, oily wood only with open grain. A couple of coats of sanding sealer to start your finishing will work wonders.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam