Walmart Ice Tube Trays

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

penturner63

Hi,
I was in Walmart today,and saw what they call Ice Tube Trays. They are hard plastic tubes to make ice in. I was woundring if they would work for casting.
They are open on top and bottom, with snap on caps to hold in the water.
Do you think the blank would come out or stick in the tubes. I have never casted before, and want to start slow and cheep. Thanks for the help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rej19

Hi, I have no experience at all casting but at our Indiana group meeting this past weekend Jeff-in-Indiana did an excellent demo of PR casting. Jeff has done thousands of castings. He showed one of the exact Walmart Icemolds that you describe. I would say if he uses them they ought to work fine. I plan to give it a try after the holidays when I have a little more time!

sbell111

I've used them. They work fine for PR blanks, but not so well if you cast anything in them.

My first attempt at coffee bean blanks used these ice trays for molds. I had to basically chisel the PR out of the molds. The only thing I can think of is that since they were cast under pressure, the PR expended the mold slightly as it hardened, jamming itself in place.

penturner63

Ok,
Thank you for the info,but I have a dumb question.
I'm very new at this. What is the difference between
PR and casting? Thank you

rej19