Vendor insurance

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gandsande

Hey I am looking for suggestions of event insurance providers for Craft sales/shows in Canada. I would like to do a few shows and the only thing i am finding so far in Canada is for a 200.00 per 3 day event coverage (WOW).

I have seen what looks to be a more fair price for vendors and events in the states with Artists & Craft Fair Liability Insurance | ACT Insurance Program but they wont cover Canadians at events in Canada.

Does any one have a suggestions?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I'm new to the events side of pen sales... What area of town are you trying to sell pens? You need insurance? Is a craft sale in Gotham city wise? Or are you multi-tasking as a penmaking skew juggler?

I will be watching this thread, because I don't understand it fully.

desertrat

Not sure about Canada but here in Nevada I was able to add a rider to my home owners policy for 1 million liability and loss of income for a very nominal yearly premium. You might check with your agent.

John H

PenMan1

I don't know ANYTHING about Canadian Insurance. But, I can tell you about American Show Vendor insurance.

If you buy it as an "extention" of Home Owner's insurance, it is basically WORTHLESS (too many clauses and basically NO coverage) those premiums run about $200-$500 per year and it reality, COVERS NOTHING!

TRUST YOUR ACCOUNTANT AND PAY HIM/HER WELL! The CHEAP OR FREE accountants are MUCH OVERPAID! A reputable BUSINESS accountant will make SOLID recommendations based on your exposure.

If you are going to be a "hobbiest" , hire a "hobby" accountant and a "hobby" insurance agent, and "roll the dice". If you are going to be a professional, GET PROFESSIONAL ADVICE!

If you set your business up as a either a SubChapterS or DBA(my guru says LLC is STUPID), all of the rules change. LET your accountant recommend your insurance needs!