Vacuum vs Pressure - When to use?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rich Aldrich

I am new to stablizing and casting, so I will ask an obvious question. Is vacuum used for stablizing and pressure used for casting? Or is it that too easy?

I make a lot of bowls and have some really good burl scraps that I can recover for pen blanks. They would need to be dry and stablized to use. Also, I have been buying some buckeye blanks on Ebay some of which will require stablizing.

Thank you for your help.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
I am new to stablizing and casting, so I will ask an obvious question. Is vacuum used for stablizing and pressure used for casting? Or is it that too easy?...
That's the general consensus. Most have found it necessary to use pressure when casting with Alumilite, but not always needed with PR.
The closer you can get to 30mmHg vacuum, depending on how high above sea level you are, the better the stabilizing results.
Oh, and welcome to IAP.

Last edited:

robutacion

I am new to stablizing and casting, so I will ask an obvious question. Is vacuum used for stablizing and pressure used for casting? Or is it that too easy?

I make a lot of bowls and have some really good burl scraps that I can recover for pen blanks. They would need to be dry and stablized to use. Also, I have been buying some buckeye blanks on Ebay some of which will require stablizing.

Thank you for your help.

Yes, generally speaking, that's what those 2 systems are use more frequently, for...!

A pressure pot is an ideal basis for a stabilizing system, you will need a clear thick Perspex lid, a flat seal, a vacuum pump some hose and fittings (including vacuum gauge). The only disadvantage I see, is that you will not able to use both system at the same time, something that may not be a problem for you and many others, but worth to be mentioned...!