Using accelerator to glue tubes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BrianGrimm

Greetings all,

I'm very new to pen turning (turned two at a WoodCraft event 10 years ago, then nothing). My question is about how the accelerator works in practice.

After I drill the blank, scuff the tube, apply the glue and insert the tube into the blank, I've seen many people apply accelerator to the exposed end of the blank/tube. Does the reaction triggered by the accelerator travel down the tube, or is it only working on the glue exposed at the end of the tube?

I've tried to find this information from manufacturers, all I've found is info about the initial chemical reaction.

Thanks,
Brian

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
It does not travel down/go deep unless there is only air for it to go through. There is little extra contact after the initial outside/end contact.

The results of lack of good contact:
Some people have excellent experience with CA and tubes; many use epoxy and the rest use polyurethane glue. Poly has the least "blowouts"; Epoxy has less blowouts than CA, but that is subjective due to the fact that more people use CA, or CA and accelerator. I had my share of it long ago and it was amazing to see a blow and a smooth underside where the CA came loose and then all the spaces that CA did not contact both the blank and brass. It is surprising how much of the space between the tube and blank are NOT filled/in contact with CA or epoxy.

Accelerator does not increase that contact area appreciably. It has been my experience that CA and epoxy have about the same adhesion area.

Poly glue does. But polyurethane glue is messy and takes over night or all day to cure.