Turning Tools

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

knottyharry

Has anyone had any experience with Southern Brand Tools.
I was looking at a five piece set of miniature turning tools on their website.
But I know nothing about this company.
Any suggestions would be great.
Harry

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rifleman1776

None here. Are they low priced? Sometimes even the low price stuff is a good value. Personally, I rarely use the miniatures. Most of my pen turning is done with 1/2" and 1" gouges and a 1" skew.

Deere41h

Harry, You might want to consider a set of Harbor Freight tools. A box of 8 for under $36.00. There are several of us here that have them and they work very nicely. And you don't have to worry about destroying a high price tool when learning to sharpen them.

They are HSS as well so they stay sharp for quite a while. Good luck.

Dario

I have been turning for a few years...and still using my 8pc HSS set from Harbor Freight. It was only $25.00 [:D] then. They are still almost full length so I probably won't be using these up in my lifetime. I am not saying I won't upgrade when my finances permit though [;)]

gothycdesigns

I have a 3pc. set from Harbor Freight. Cost was $5.00, HSS 1/8" Parting Tool, 1/2" Skew, and 1/2" bowl gouge....something like that. I bought them a couple of months ago. Have work really well. I've ben sharpening them by Dremel, but yesterday bought a 6" bench grinder. This will help greatly in sharpening them.

I have found that sharpening the bowl gouge with more of a point. When you buy the tools, they are straight cut, I have grinded down the outer edges to produce a more center point or a rounded tip. It allows me to roll more when getting into tight designs. You don't have the high edges of the gouge nicking your work. If I get a pick of it, I'll post it to show. I'm sure some other turners may do the same thing and may have pictures of their tools.