Tru Stone Finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

radomsr

Anyone know if a finish should be applied to a trustone blank. Maybe just wax. I was worried about oils in hands breaking down or getting into the material.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Others will have a longer time-frame than I, but I have some about 12 months old (friends/relatives that I see often enough) and there has not been any issues.

I first used acrylic Friction polish, but more recently a Maquire's Automotive Scratch remover/polish and I LOVE it. Great on Alumilite, PR, etc.

Have FUN!

TonyL

MM to 12k then Meguires 105 and 205 followed by Rejex auto/boat/aircraft synthetic wax. The same process I used for CA finish.

radomsr

TrueStone

Thanks guys. Just what I thought.

When finished I'll try to post pics. If I can figure this out. I'm new to this blogging thing.

keithbyrd

I sand to 1200, MM through the set, Hut's Ultra and Ren Wax - never had a problem - still using a TruStone pen I made 4 years ago and except for an occasional hand buffing with a soft cloth - looks great!

TonyL

I just used the Meguiars 105 and 205 after using Novus 3 and 2 and Plastx. Two small apps of 105, followed by two small coats of 205 at 1100 to 1300 rpms (and cotton t-shirt patch) and no scratches under 10 magnification. Sanded up to the teal MM. I really wish some of these other products would work for me. I own about 10 different ones.

I do not use a separate finish on TS, but I have observed that it does develop a slightly less glossy finish than CA. Hardly noticeable but if you use CA to repair, say, a piece of TS that breaks off the blank because you're a dummy turner, the part of the blank that was coated with CA will polish up ever so slightly glossier than the bare TS.......DAMHIKT

radomsr

Truestone arrrg