Thoiught it woukd be fun to make SS bushings.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

Calling on machinist :).
What do I need to make SS TBC pen bushings?

A metal lathe? What quality? Size? Etc?
What else?

I know I can buy them and I do; I also live 2 miles from Constant.

But I thought it would be fun to learn.

Thanks.

PS. I want to make them out of SS; I know they can be made of Corian, and many other materials.

Thanks again!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

What else?

Thanks.

PS. I want to make them out of SS; I know they can be made of Corian, and many other materials.

Thanks again!

I'm no expert but I would assume that even a small HF lathe with good quality tools would be do fine.

oneleggimp

Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan 48230 United States o

What else?

Thanks.

Thanks again!
For that small a work piece you could use one of the Chinese made metal lathes (same lathe under several different name plates - including harbor freight). Stainless cuts harder than carbon steel so you might want to get a carbide turning bit to go with the lathe. Sounds like a fun project. Wish I had room. Id love to have a little metal lathe.

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
Tony, I don't wish to start an argument with our friends who have suggested a small lathe would work fine. I just wanted to tell you of my own experience with turning SS with my Micro-Lux 7x16. I use the carbide indexible insert tool. I tried turning SS ONE time, at .005" It grabbed the tool and, raised the compound up on the post. So I stopped there and, never tried it again. I suppose I could have continued with taking lighter cuts but, that would involve much more time.

If you are serious about buying a lathe, may I suggest at least a 9x20 if not larger. As my friends have told me, "you can turn small things on a big lathe but, you can't turn big things on a small lathe" In my option, the same goes for hardness of material. Just my thoughts and, some may disagree.