This beginner is confused.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cestmoi

I just got my new lathe and made my very first pen on it yesterday. I've never used a lathe before, so I'm very excited to get some practice. The rosewood blank and pen kit were part of PSI's basic pen making kit. The package also included a DVD about pen making and I've watched numerous other videos. So here are my questions:

1. I don't really like the rosewood blanks and would like to try some other woods and/or acrylics that are more colorful/pretty. What would be some suggestions for less expensive blanks since I'm such a beginner?
2. The PSI dvd shows the pen maker using EEE and Shellawax, but everyone here talks about CA glue. Why is CA glue so much better than the other products? I bought a bottle of thin CA and made a mess of trying to use it.
3. Along the same lines as question #1, what are some suggestions for less expensive pen kits that are more interesting than the slimline kits that came in the PSI pen making set?

Thanks, in advance, for your help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

D.Oliver

2. The reason PSI uses EEE and shellwax is that it is easier to apply than CA. For beginners that is a plus. CA is a more durable finish but it takes time to learn how to do it.

3. Cigar pen kits are a relatively low cost kit that you might want to look at. Also look at modifying your slimlines with things such as custom centerbands to acheive differnt looks. Have a look at this article in the library. There are some great examples in it.

Bean_Counter

Hi Leslie, first welcome to the IAP

1. Probably a good start might be to find some walnut, cherry, eastern red cedar. A good place to get some great blanks would be woodbarter.com. I wouldnt go with anything high end until you are completely ready for them.