The Trouble with Ebony

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sonya R

I'm fairly new to the world of penturning and woodworking, in general. I'm trying to make a pen out of ebony, but no sooner do I get it made than it develops a crack. I'll tell you how I've worked it, and maybe you have some suggestions on how to do this differently/better to avoid the cracking. After shaping, I've sanded smooth to a 600 grit, added a coat of thin CA, followed by four - sometimes five - coats of medium CA. Lightly sanded back to a 1500 grit to give it a matte finish. I'm certain that I didn't sand back through THAT many coats of CA. Any insights? I've already checked previous posts, and about all I really get is that I'm not too far off the mark, but I'm just dealing with the nature of the beast.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plantman

Sonya; Ebony is a diffucult wood to work with in the first place when turned very thin. I don't know if this is the answer you are looking for or not, but this is how I treat my Ebony pens or turnings. On the pens, after I drill them, I coat the inside with thin CA then redrill. Make sure the blank has cooled off before glueing in the tubes. I have never used CA finish on any Ebony items I have made, I always use 5-6 coats of buffing polish in three different grades. I have faucet handles I have made for the bathrooms almost 20 years ago that have never cracked. Jim S

Last edited:

tim self

The only thing you didn't mention is heat. How WARM is the wood getting. It doesn't stand up well to it while sanding. It's probably the most unforgiving of all the woods in that aspect. Well that and snake wood.

Sonya R

The wood is getting warm to the touch, but never hot. I thought heat might be playing a factor, but the cracking is happening several hours after turning and sealing. Do you think heat might still be a factor?

BRobbins629

Passed Away Dec 28, 2021
In Memoriam