That final .01"

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Xander

Hi. Tried out my new Woodchuck Pen Pro today. Nice.

I'm still new at turning and pens, just finished my 10th pen and man is it NICE. (more on that in SOYP). I'm still using bushings and mandrel and probably will for a while, except for applying CA to wood blanks (if I can get delrin finishing bushings). I've always been very careful, methodical, and generally a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to things mechanical. In the past I've spent countless years buidling cars, restoring military jet aircraft for museum, generally doing stuff with my hands ... but BIG things where close enough is usually good enough, nothing small like a pen.

Anyway, it seems that I'm taking a very long time to turn a pen. I won't go into the hour it takes to drill the blank, or paint, glue, ... etc.
I guess I can 'rough' out a blank in a reasonable time but then I spend an hour getting the last 0.01". It's ... turn close to bushings, measure, turn more, measure, turn, measure, measure again, turn just the slightest hair, measure.... still too big, turn, measure.... not quite, turn, measure... still not there.... just a whisker off, measure.... AAARRGGGGGGG.

How can you tell how much to take off for that elusive 0.01"? Is this something that will come with experience? I'm I being too critical?

This last pen turn out magnificent, all the previous efforts were pretty good too. I think I might be getting "better' or at least more demanding of myself.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
For me I do worry about the .01 just not the .001 I don't think there is an easy way. Just turn and measure. I find a skew works wonders for taking off those little bits without making a mess.

Last edited:

Lucky2

This last pen turn out magnificent, all the previous efforts were pretty good too. I think I might be getting "better' or at least more demanding of myself.