Tapping Bottle Stopper Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Katsin

Katsin

Tapping newbie here.

I am tapping wooden blanks for my bottle stoppers by hand and this is working out all right but I feel like there should be a better way to do the tapping. Are there good techniques for tapping with higher precision?

I tried leaving a blank secured to my drill press after drilling and loading the tap into the drill press... turning the tap by hand as I brought the tap down with the drill press, but this didn't work out at all so I immediately went back to tapping by hand.

Is highly controlled tapping a specialty of milling machines?

Using a 5/16" drill bit and tapping a 3/8" x 1/16tip thread.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jim Burr

Banned
Nothing wrong with that. I use a tap/mandrel from Ruth Niles and run the speed on my 1642 down to 50rpm. Hand taping should work just as well.

monophoto

I've tapped a few by hand. Yes, that works, but there is a risk that the tap won't remain exactly on-axis when it is done purely by hand. And when that happens, the metal stopper won't sit squarely on the turning leaving a gap partway around the seam between the metal stopper and the turning..

You can compensate for that by using a forstner bit to drill a rabbet in the end of the blank before drilling the hole. Measure the metal top of the stopper, and then use the next larger standard forstner bit. The rabbet doesn't have to be very deep - 1/16" is usually enough. The purpose of the rabbet is to hide the seam between the metal stopper and the turning so that if there is a slight gap, it won't show when the stopper is in the bottle. Drill the rabbet first - you can center the 5/16" bit on the hole left by th spur on the forstner bit, but not the other way around.