Streamlines for beginners

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SCR0LL3R

I've been turning for a few months now, I've had some ups and downs along the way but overall I love making pens. I haven't tried much of anything else on my lathe because the pens are so much fun.

When I started out, like most people, I bought a bunch of slimlines. I fought with them, got annoyed at times, but they served their purpose I guess. Since then I have made about 120 pens or so and kept making slims to have a slender pen to offer. Even with more practice they were still hard to get a nice fit around the center band. Recently I decided, "I'm not going to make 'em anymore". They don't sell for enough and they just aren't fun to make. So I bought some stremlines to replace them...

Wow! What a difference! They are so much easier to get a nice fit in the center. I think these should be #1 recommended for new turners. They look so nice, they're quite cheap and they're the easiest ever to make.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hewunch

Link for suppliers?

Nearly every supplier has a "streamline" kind of pen. Some folks call them "comforts" they come with a rubber grip to put near the point. Just throw those away and turn as usual. Some folks call them by other names.

Here is how you know what they are. If the drill bit is 7mm. If it is two EQUAL length barrels. If the instructions encourage you to make two barrels that are basically the same with one end being larger than the other on both barrels, and the point and the finial are the same size and the middle part on both barrels are the same size, THEN you know, that this pen is a streamline or one of the MANY different machinations there of.

Another way to modify a slim, other than the way Allen does is to lose the CB all together and make the lower barrel (the one with the point) slimmer than the upper barrel. And then taper it back to the finial. Like this (better picture... http://www.pensbyhans.com/slimcoral.jpg )