Stop apologizing

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Haynie

As a photographer I concentrate on the photograph when that is what I am doing. I have been known to wait hours and sometimes days before tripping the shutter. I will take multiple shots of the same thing with only very subtle changes. I have thrown away whole rolls of film (yes I still use film) because I could not put the image I saw in my mind on the film. This OCD Really ticks the wife off some times. The point is when I am out photographing something it is not about the item(s) I am taking photographs of, it is about the final image itself

When I am taking a picture of something I am working on, I am not too worried about the artistic/commercial qualities of the images. I want to just show folks what I am working on. In this case the picture is about the item not the image.

The SOYP area is about showing us what you are doing, not your photography skills. All we should be asking for is an image that is in focus and lit well enough for us to see the pen. Walk out side, set the pen on something that is not distracting in the shade. Get it in focus and pull the trigger. Take a couple different views. We want to see all the curves. Getting outside means you have enough light to handhold the camera and still have things in focus.

In my opinion there is a time for the crystal clear product shots. If you are posting the image on the net to sell the pen, DO YOUR BEST! Take a product photography lesson or two. Watch some Youtube videos and practice, practice, practice. If you feel like the image is not going to sell the pen, don't apologize for it, do it again, and again, and again, until you have an image that sells the pen, and you don't feel the need to apologize.