Spalted Pecan and Claro Walnut Mills

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from kyaggie

kyaggie

I graduated from a small school in Texas (class size of 60) and I went to that school from kindergarten through 12th grade. Through the wonders of social media, aka Facebook, I have been able to keep in touch with my 3rd grade teacher who was a powerful influence on my life both when I was in school and for these almost 3 decades since I graduated from high school even though I have moved almost 1000 miles away. Mrs. Anders wanted a salt and pepper mill so I was honored to make these for her. They are out of claro walnut and spalted pecan and the finish is Pens Plus from doctorswoodshop.com. This is my favorite design for mills because it is simple and it focuses your attention on the beauty of the wood instead of the design.

Mike

Attachments

• Mrs. Anders Mills.jpg
    Mrs. Anders Mills.jpg
    180.4 KB · Views: 377
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Charlie_W

So this is Charlie's wife who is a teacher and I was moved by what was written about your former teacher. To keep in touch with her 3 decades later has got to be an honor for her. To craft these is really a gift from the heart. These are awesome! :good:

BSea

Thanks for showing these. I'm thinking of doing a similar set, and I've been looking at doctorswoodshop.com today, and I'm planning on getting some of the exact finish you used.

They both look great.

kyaggie

Thanks very much all... she is a special person and I'm very glad to make these for her.

Craig, these use the CrushGrind mechanism.

Mike

kyaggie

I've been looking at doctorswoodshop.com today, and I'm planning on getting some of the exact finish you used.