Software for Drafting pen design ideas

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ridlaH

Hello everyone,

I'm just beginning my bespoke/custom pen making journey and I've been reading a few posts on the site and noticed that amidst some of the very helpful comments, a few users where able to provide some very detailed 3D renderings of pen sections/bodies to show the amount of thickness left in the walls etc. When using various thread types.

I wanted to know what software is recommended for drafting up and verifying different pen design ideas?

Is there something free or relatively cheap our there, or were these images done using something like AutoCAD?

I have some Ideas for pen shapes/ designs, but hoped that I could draft them up in a software program to see if they would work and to help adjust and tweak dimensions to serve what lengths and sizes my bores and threads etc. Would need to be to make it work.

I've attached screenshots of a couple of 3D images I've seen posted as an example.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240120_074450_Edge.jpg
    Screenshot_20240120_074450_Edge.jpg
    180.6 KB · Views: 52
  • Screenshot_20240120_074506_Edge.jpg
    Screenshot_20240120_074506_Edge.jpg
    116.9 KB · Views: 52
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ridlaH

Sorry, when I attempted to edit my initial thread to add the photos, I accidentally started another of the same. Can't seem to find where to delete the original.

d_bondi

Most use Fuseion 360, its free for a year to non business or low volume businesses.
I believe that it is free as long as you want it for personal use only but you may have to re-up every year (not sure what this entails).

I decided on Fusion 360 and have downloaded and installed it but haven't had the time to re-learn using an autocad program.

duncsuss

Here's what I use...