Sharpening Tools?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brano11

Im new to most of the woodturning as you can see from my other post. I posted this question in there but not many responces about it. What kind of tools do you all use to sharpen your tools? Im a college student so the cheaper the better for myself, as long as it still works. I wont beable to have a powered sharpener or anything like that because I dont have enough outlets in my shed. Any ideas / help is greatly appreciated.

And also, what is mostly used for in cutting acrylic / woods blanks? I think I know what to use for the woodblanks but not the acrylic?

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Nick

Sharpening

PSI sells a set of Carbide tools for pens. They work great on Acrylic blanks but I use HSS on wood. Then all you would need is a set of those credit card size Diamond Hones.

Last edited:

jeffj13

If the only reason for not having a grinder in your shed is the number of outlets, I would simply plug and unplug my tools as needed. If cost is a consideration, sandpaper and a flat surface like a piece of 1/4" glass (scary sharp) will do the trick although it will take awhile. I know some people who have built a jig for the belt sander and use that.

I use the same HHS chisels for acrylic as I use for wood.

jeff

Dario

A little ingenuity can go a long way. Anything powered (your lathe included) can be jerry rigged to double as sharpening station.

In the Philippines, people are making money sharpening kitchen tools by using their bike (have extra chains to power the grinding stone while the rear wheel is propped up (slow speed grinding too LOL). Another style I saw is transferring the chain from the back wheel to the grinding wheel everytime he sharpens. Then there is this guy who also powers a grinding wheel by lowering the grinding wheel in contact with the bike's wheel (too low for my liking). All of these are pedal powered :D.