Seem to have lost my segmenting "touch"...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

mbellek

So, about a month ago -- actually 2 months ago, I relocated my shop. I moved from borrowing my father-in-law's equipment, to my very own shop with my very own equipment! (yeesssss!) Just before this process began, I had discovered segmenting and was very into it, and was also very successful at it. However, other than the help of all of you (and some very very basic info from my father in law on basics of operating the lathe), I'm self-taught, so I fly by the seat of my pants a lot.

When I moved into my new shop, things were a bit slow going at first, so I haven't done segmenting in quite a long time. I just tried to make a rather simple segment the other day, and it busted within minutes of turning it! I had not even rounded it down yet! I don't get it. It was epoxied, clamped, and left to set for at least 2 days... The same thing has happened on two other occasions, and these are simple segments -- Wood-A/1/4" stripe of Wood-B/Wood-A

What are some common pitfalls of segmenting that I might be hitting? (Remember, These are hair pins that I"m making, so I'm not drilling a hole in the blank, so I don't think I'm weakening it that way)

If there is more info you need to know to help me, tell me so!

(Hope I'm not the only one thinking of woodturning on Thanksgiving!!)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Russianwolf

It may be your glue.

Epoxy is wonderful stuff for bonding one surface to another, but it is also kinda brittle in my experience. So while it may be great for gluing the tube into a blank for pen turners, it may not work as well for turning laminations. Left overs on a sheet of paper for instance can be broken like glass.

I use good old wood glue for my laminations and have never had a glue joint fail. It allows some flex in the bonded fibers, so this may be the issue that you are dealing with.

mbellek

Really?