Rollerball skips

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fritz

I made a Jr Gent rollerball for a customer over the holidays and he called to tell me his pen "skips" when he writes. I called CSUSA and they sent a replacement out. I gave it to my customer and now he says the replacement is also "skipping." I made a Jr Statesman from the same batch of pens I bought over the holidays and this pen skips too.

Is anyone else having problems? I'm fairly new to penturning and a little nervous since I plan on selling these to resort gift stores this summer.

John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

UKpenmaker

I have had the odd new refill every now and again which has gotr either some dried ink or some something that protects the ball. All i have to do is to flick off whatever it is on the end with my finger-nail and it works fine. May not be this but worth a look.

Dario

If it is what Andrew described....use the pen and write on a rubber (NO not "the" rubber [:D]). Clean sole of a rubber soled shoe would work great.

toolcrazy

May be a good idea to grab some better refills and take the hit. So you can keep you customers happy.
http://www.woodchipshome.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=WC&Product_Code=SRC888

DocStram

I'm at the point where I just stop by my local Office Depot and buy several rollerball refills .... the Office Depot house brand... "Foray". I'm real happy with them and I just stick them in every new rb that I make.

toolcrazy

Originally posted by DocStram
<br />I'm at the point where I just stop by my local Office Depot and buy several rollerball refills .... the Office Depot house brand... "Foray". I'm real happy with them and I just stick them in every new rb that I make.

Hmmm, I bought some cross type made by Foray and had nothing but problems with them. Took them back and got Cross originals. Rollerball must be better.

DocStram

Originally posted by toolcrazy
<br />
Originally posted by DocStram