Robutacion Olive Root Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Sandy H.

Sandy H.

This is my first picture post here and it is made from one of the Olive Root blanks Robutacion graciously gave out during his game. Thanks!!!

This is a gift for a friend of mine I will be seeing this week, so I won't be able to get better pictures. I literally have tried different techniques for 3 days, but I'm very new at trying to photograph anything like this. I know they are far from perfect, but I think you can at least see some of the beauty of the blank.

The kit was an SPW Classic Convertible. I chose to use the roller ball, but the fountain option might be better.

Any comments are appreciated, both about the pen and the pictures. I have thick skin, so if you have any criticism, please put it out there, as I want to learn.

Sandy.

FYI, the pictures were taken with a Nikon D50, Focal Length 26mm, Aperture F25, exposure 1/3 and 1/4 second. I used a tripod, no flash and 2 external lights.

Attachments

• olive 4.jpg
    olive 4.jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 302
  • olive 5.jpg
    olive 5.jpg
    35 KB · Views: 354
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PaulDoug

Hard to criticize something that nice. Some may like to see more grain in the bottom section, I like it as is.

Last edited:

jyreene

I like it. The photo looks good on my phone. I agree with Paul. I like the contrast the highly segmented cap has vs the more plain base. Really pops when capped. Great pen and seem to be good pics.

robutacion

Great pen Sandy, thank you for specifying the blank's origin...!